top of page

What is a Cake Smash & Splash Session?

Cake smash sessions have become really popular over the past few years. They are usually done as a first birthday celebration and include a cake.....that you let the baby smash! How much fun is that? Giant cupcakes are perfect for cakes smash sessions with all the lovely icing on the top!

In the past twelve months or so a lot of photographers have started adding a splash section to the session which involves bubbles....lots of lovely bubbles! So after getting messy the children get to play and splash in a lovely bath as well.

My 'Cake Smash & Splash Sessions' are proving very popular this year which is lovely as I'm getting to see lots of new clients as well as lots of my newborn clients from last year returning for their Birthday celebration sessions.

At my studio in Rochdale, near Manchester I am able to provide these lovely sessions which last approximately 1-2 hours depending on each baby. At the beginning of the session we do a standard photo shoot so the baby is in their own clothes and we get lots of lovely images of them and let them warm up a bit, getting used to the studio and my camera as well as me:)

Once they are used to the environment we get them into their outfit for the smash part. For little boys this is usually shorts or jeans and for little girls I have a few little tutu style skirts that they can wear. Before each session I discuss which each client about what to wear. Neutral is always best in photoshoots so that your images remain timeless and don't look dated in 20 years.

We introduce the baby to the cake and usually they look at it in amazement with no idea where to start! I love seeing their faces when they realise they can touch it and really dig into it! This usually takes a little time and encouragement to get them to really go for it. Once they do it's so much fun watching them touch and taste it and get really messy! I capture lots of lovely images of them exploring the cake and using all their senses!

Once they've made a mess it's time to clean up and bring the bath out. I have a lovely vintage tin bath filled with lovely warm water and lots and lots of bubbles. They absolutely love this part of the session and watching their little faces spalshing about, playing with bubbles is amazing. I make it fun singing songs and encouraging them to splash about as much as possible. These sessions end up being as messy for me as they do for the children and I love it!

After the bath we wrap them in a fluffy white towel and let them get warm and cosy. You can bring their favourite toy to the session for this part and we can capture lots of lovely images. Throughtout the session we can stop for cuddles with mummy and daddy, snacks and drinks and I

never rush my clients. Each session is about you and your baby. It's about capturing the memory of this time for you so relax and enjoy!

To book one of these sessions head over to my Home page and click on the 'Book Now' button and we can arrange a date!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page